City Officials

Cedar Falls City Officials

The City of Cedar Falls has a mayor-council form of government. The council and mayor perform duties that are authorized or required by state law and by the City Code of Ordinances, resolutions, and the rules and regulations of the city.


The Mayor is responsible for carrying out the policies and ordinances of the City Council, for overseeing the day-to-day operations of the City, and for recommending the appointments of department directors. The Mayor is elected at large and for a two-year term.

City Council

Policymaking and legislative authority are vested in the governing council, which consists of seven members. The City Council is responsible, among other things, for passing ordinances, adopting the budget, setting goals, and approval of boards and commissions. The Council is elected on a non-partisan basis. Council members consist of two Council members elected at large and one Council member from each of five wards as established by ordinance, elected for terms of four years.